Congratulations to our accomplished faculty

Congratulations to our exemplary faculty for their recent accomplishments!






Caitlin Tomko, DNP ’18 who presented her poster “Addiction as a Terminal Disease” in the Palliative Care Clinic at the McGill International Palliative Care Congress in Montreal, Canada.

Karen Klingman, PhD, RN for serving on IRG last month for training grants (K23, K24) through NHLBI (in MPOR panel, which is their patient-oriented research section).

Caitlin Nye, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CHSE for her publication “Who is your We?” in the Journal for Nurses in Professional Development.  She was invited to give a presentation “Queer Care 101” based on her work at George Washington University.

Justin Waryold, DNP, RN, ANP-C, ACNP-BC, GS-C, CNE, FAANP  for his poster “Trauma-informed care education for non-HIV providers managing people living with HIV” being accepted to the 2022 Association of Nurses in AIDS Care held in Tampa, FL.


College of Nursing Dean, Upstate Foundation Vice President for Development among several to receive award for exemplary service

Recipients of the Upstate Council Award for Exemplary Service are front row, from left: Amy Tucker, Lynn Cleary, David Amberg, Tammy Austin-Ketch, Eileen Pezzi, Lawrence Chin, and Robert Corona. Back row, from left: Stuart Wright, Nancy Page, Mark Zeman, Rajesh Dave, Eric Smith, Mark Schmitt and Mantosh Dewan. 

Congratulations to the College of Nursing Dean Tammy Austin-Ketch, PhD, FNP, FAANP and Eileen Pezzi, MPH, vice president for development for the Upstate Foundation who were among several Upstate Medical University executive team members to receive the 2022 SUNY Upstate Council Awards for Exemplary Service. The Exemplary Service Award recognizes those who have provided extraordinary service to or on behalf of Upstate Medical University beyond the usual boundaries of excellence, in support of the Upstate mission to improve health within the region it serves and beyond, through education, patient care and biomedical research. The Nursing Alumni Association is administered by the Upstate Foundation.

Click here to read about all of the 2022 recipients.

College of Nursing students receive white coats in March

College of Nursing Dean Dr. Tammy Austin-Ketch (center) stands with some of the incoming Nursing students at the White Coat Ceremony in March

The white lab coat, signifying professional commitment to patient care, was presented to Upstate’s College of Nursing master’s students as they began their clinicals. The Student Reception, White Coat Ceremony was held March 29 in the New Academic Building. The ceremony, originally scheduled for fall 2021, was rescheduled due to the pandemic.

Incoming students for each program totaled 182 – Bachelors (53), Master’s (117), Doctor of Nursing Practice and Post-Master’s Certificate (12). White coats for MS students were provided by the Nursing Alumni Association.

Long-time event sponsor KeyBank led the series of speakers. Central NY Regional President, Stephen Fournier described the many ways nurses improve the quality of life in the community. Tammy Austin-Ketch, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP, dean of the College of Nursing, welcomed the incoming students along with a pre-recorded welcome from Mantosh Dewan, MD, president of Upstate Medical University.  Keynote Speaker LaToya M. Jones, BS HAS, LPN addressed the incoming students with her chosen topic, Caring with a Compassionate Heart. Ms. Jones is the Syracuse & CNY Regional Healthcare organizer, change agent in Public Health & Social Equity and an MPH candidate 2023, Grand Canyon University. The Nursing Alumni Association President John Ringhisen, PMHNP ’19, addressed and congratulated the students, as well. Cupcakes for all attending were supplied by Upstate’s Office of Campus Activities.

College of Nursing Dean Tammy Austin-Ketch, PhD (left), Nursing Alumni Association representative Terry Shenfeld, College of Nursing  Associate Professor Dr. Jennifer Vaughn, and KeyBank President Stephen Fournier.

KeyBank President Stephen Fournier (left), talks with Nursing Alumni Association President John Ringhisen